Meet the SMA Leadership

Leadership within the Southern Medical Association is not about position or title, it's about serving your colleagues and patients through the development of quality educational activities.

Executive Committee

Ajoy Kumar, MD

Ajoy Kumar, MD

Donald J. DiPette, MD

Donald J. DiPette, MD

Benjamin M. Carmichael, MD, FACC

Benjamin M. Carmichael, MD, FACC

Immediate Past President

Randall E. Glick, BSB/PM MCP

Executive Director


The SMA Council is the governing body of the Association. The Council governs the Association in accordance with our Constitution, Bylaws, and Policy and Procedures Manual.The SMA Council consists of physicians duly elected by the SMA members in their states to represent their state or district: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia or the District of Columbia.

SMA Territory Map


Clement P. Cotter, Jr. - SMA Councilor
Trudie Seirafi - SMAA Councilor



District of Columbia

Marilou Tablang-Jimenez - SMA Councilor


Loretta S. Loftus, MD, MBA - SMA Councilor
Adina Nobie - SMAA Councilor


Melissa B. Rhodes, MD - SMA Councilor


Philip Hartman - SMA Councilor
Patricia Pellegrini - SMAA Councilor


Donna L. Breen, MD - SMA Councilor
Connie Boyer - SMAA Councilor


Marilou Tablang-Jimenez - SMA Councilor
Myrna Goodman - SMAA Councilor


Jeffrey Morris, MD - SMA Councilor
Heather Rifkin - SMAA Councilor


Jeffrey G. Copeland, MD, FACS - SMA Councilor
Barbara Hover - SMAA Councilor

North Carolina

Lawrence (Lee) S. Carter, Jr., MD - SMA Councilor


Tomas P. Owens - SMA Councilor
Barbara Jett - SMAA Councilor

South Carolina

Elizabeth W. Edwards, MD - SMA Councilor
Shirley Meiere - SMAA Councilor


Christopher R. Morris - SMA Councilor
Robin Hutchins - SMAA Councilor


Rosa E. Cuenca, MD, FACS - SMA Councilor
Lori Routh - SMAA Councilor


Joan K. Lingen - SMA Councilor

West Virginia

David Avery - SMA Councilor

Out of Region

Shirley Becker - SMAA Councilor

Content Review Board

The Content Review Board was created to make sure our content is validated to meet the definition of CME and promote quality or improvements in health care.

  • David Avery, MD
  • Jan Basile, MD
  • Jeffrey Brant, MD
  • Ben Carmichael, MD
  • Lawrence Carter, MD
  • Jeffrey Copeland, MD
  • Clement Cotter, Jr., MD
  • Donald DiPette, MD
  • Philip Hartman, MD
  • Mason P. Jett, MD
  • Robert Kruger, MD
  • Ajoy Kumar, MD
  • Joan Lingen, MD
  • Christopher Morris, MD
  • Jeffrey Morris, MD
  • Fayez Shamieh, MD
  • Steven Strode, MD
  • Mark Williams, MD

Leadership Unplugged

Most Recent SMA Posts